Open Science Meet-Ups

The Open Science Meet-Ups, which take place once a month in English, provide a space for relaxed exchange on Open Science-related topics. Members of all ERUA universities (University of Konstanz, Roskilde University, New Bulgarian University, Université Paris 8 and University of the Aegean) are very welcome. No registration is necessary.

Do you have topic suggestions, ideas or requests that you would like to discuss at an Open Science Meet-Up? We would be very happy to hear from you.


Next Meet-Ups

27.10.2022: Open Access Books

14:00 - 14:45 Uhr CET

Individual articles that are published in Open Access journals or via preprint servers have established themselves in a range of academic disciplines since the 1990s. A less well-known format of Open Access publishing are the so-called Open Access books, i.e. full-fledged academic books that are published without access restrictions on the internet.

In this meet-up, Andreas Kirchner, Open Access consultant at the University of Konstanz’ Team Open Science and co-founder of the Open Access publisher meson press, will explain what characterises open access books and in which academic contexts they are popular. Moreover, he will shed light on why meson press chose to publish Open Access books, what the process of publication at meson press looks like and how their Open Access books are financed.

After the talk, participants will have the opportunity to ask questions and to discuss things in greater detail. All members of the five ERUA universities (New Bulgarian University, Roskilde, Konstanz, Paris 8 and University of the Aegean) are very welcome to join in the session, no registration is required.

Contact:

24.11.2022: Repositories

14:00 - 14:45 Uhr CET

Repositories are among the most important building blocks of Open Science. As storage services for digital objects like research data or journal articles, they are indispensable when it comes to publishing, (self-)archiving and making papers as well as data available to the global public.

In this meet-up, Gabriel Schneider will explain what different kinds of repositories there are and why you should use consider using repositories to publish data and text publications. Moreover, he will provide practical insight into how KonDATA, the institutional research data repository of the University of Konstanz, was developed.

After the talk, participants will have the opportunity to ask questions and to discuss things in greater detail. All members of the five ERUA universities (New Bulgarian University, Roskilde, Konstanz, Paris 8 and University of the Aegean) are very welcome to join in the session, no registration is required.

Kontakt:

Past Meet-Ups

29.09.2022: The Impact of Bulgaria's National Open Science Plan on the New Bulgarian University

14:00 - 14:45 Uhr CET

Unlike many countries of the European Union, Bulgaria channels their Open Science efforts through a national Open Science plan which was set up by the government.

It is not hard to imagine that implementing this plan has had an overall impact not only on academic infrastructures in Bulgaria, but also on the way individual universities perform Open Science. In this meet-up, Kristina Stoyanova, Radostina Todorova and Assoc. Prof. Eduard Marinov will show how the plan has redefined the way the New Bulgarian University in Sofia performs Open Science. How has the plan influenced the university’s infrastracture ? How has it changed already-existing Open Science efforts ? Which new measures and Open Science services have been created as a consequence of what the plan requires and suggests?

After the talk, participants will have the opportunity to ask questions and to discuss individual aspects in greater detail. All members of the five ERUA universities (New Bulgarian University,  Roskilde, Konstanz, Paris 8 and University of the Aegean) are very welcome to join the session, no registration is required.

Contact:

- Kristina Stoyanova, Radostina Todorova and Assoc. Prof. Eduard Marinov, New Bulgarian University
- Maximilian Heber, Team Open Science, Universität Konstanz

Material:

- Slides: The Impact of the Bulgarian National Plan on the New Bulgarian University (CC BY 4.0 International)

21.07.2022: Citizen Science

On July 21, 2022, the 7th ERUA Open Science Meet-Up was held on Zoom between 14:00 and 14:45. The topic was Citizen Science.

The term Citizen Science refers to research methods or fields of science in which research projects are carried out with the assistance of or entirely by interested non-academics.

In this meet-up, Sacha Zurcher and Pernille Nailor looked at what can be defined as Citizen Science and what roles citizens can take in the production and consumption of scientific knowledge. Sacha included practical examples of Citizen Science conducted at Roskilde University to demonstrate how Citizen Science can be performed and what experiences were made when conducting Citizen Science.

After the talk, participants had the opportunity to ask questions and to share and discuss their own experiences with Citizen Science. All members of the five ERUA universities (New Bulgarian University, Roskilde, Konstanz, Paris 8 and University of the Aegean) were very welcome to join the session, no registration is required.

Researchers at Roskilde University have long worked with the overall ideas that are reflected in the term ”Citizen Science” by including different citizen-involving elements in their research projects. However, along the way, researchers have used different terms – esp. “action research”, “co-creation” and “participatory research” – to describe these activities. Therefore, the best way to find out more about specific projects at Roskilde University which include these methods is by visiting the university website, www.forskning.ruc.dk, and see what comes up when typing in the different terms. Forskning.ruc.dk is a great resource for anyone who is interested in knowing more about current researchers and research projects at Roskilde University.

Contact people:

Materials:

- Wordcloud
- Slides of Sacha Zurcher's presentation (CC BY-NC 4.0 Sacha Zurcher, Special Adviser Research Data, Roskilde University Library, The Royal Danish Library)

Links on Citizen Science:

23.06.2022 Open Access Journals

On June 23, 2022, the sixth ERUA Open Science Meet-Up was held on Zoom between 2:00 pm and 2:45 pm (German Time) in English. The topic was Open Access Journals.

Digital journals are becoming more and more important in academic publishing. A general distinction is made between closed access journals and open access journals; while articles in closed access journals are behind paywalls, open access articles can be read for free by everyone and everywhere.

In this meet-up, George Walkden, professor of English linguistics and editor-in-chief of the Journal of Historical Syntax, will outline the main differences between closed access journals and open access journals by using the Journal of Historical Syntax as an example. Furthermore, he will discuss why the Journal’s editors chose open rather than closed access, what editorial and publiction-related workflows consist of and how the Journal is financed.

After the talk, participants had the opportunity to ask questions and to discuss things in greater detail. All members of the five ERUA universities (New Bulgarian University, Roskilde, Konstanz, Paris 8 and University of the Aegean) were very welcome to join in the session, no registration is required.

Do you have any questions on Open Access Journals? You are very welcome to contact George or the Team Open Science anytime.

Contact:

- Prof. Dr. George Walkden, Department of Linguistics, University of Konstanz
- Maximilian Heber, Team Open Science, University of Konstanz

Materialien:

18.05.2022: The University Paris 8's Open Science Pole

On 18 May 2022, the fifth ERUA Open Science Meet-Up took place on Zoom between 14:00 and 15:15 (German Time). The topic was: The University of Paris 8 Open Science Pole.

The University of Paris 8 Open Science Pole pursues various objectives to the end of enhancing the university’s Open Science profile. The Pole’s aims are to

1.) structure the university‘s Open Science-related services.
2.) increase the visibility of Paris 8 Open Access publications in the academic world.
3.) make sure Paris 8 meets the requirements of both French and European standards.
4.) strengthen the university‘s position in the Open Science movement.
5.) enhance the dissemination of Open Science-related awareness within the territory Ile de France in terms of Citizen and Participatory Science.

In the first part of the meet-up, Dr. Goran Sekulovski explained in which institutional contexts the Pole was created, how it is operated at managerial level and which action plan will be deployed to achieve its goals and to monitor its effects. 

In the second part of the meet-up, participants had the opportunity to ask questions about the Pole and to discuss its individual elements in greater detail. All members of the five ERUA universities (New Bulgarian University, Roskilde, Konstanz, Paris 8 and University of the Aegean) are very welcome to join in, no registration is required.

Contact :

- Dr. Goran Sekulovski, Service Commun de la Documentation, University of Paris 8
- Maximilian Heber, Team Open Science, University of Konstanz

Material:

28.04.2022: Open Data Science

On 28 April 2022, the fourth ERUA Open Science Meet-Up took place on Zoom between 14:00 and 14:45 (German Time). The topic was Open Data Science.

An important aspect of Open Science, especially in scientific fields that rely on empirical approaches, is using transparent and reproducible data analytical methods (sometimes labelled as „Open Data Science“). In addition to the required documenting of one’s own work, this also makes methods accessible to other researchers and to the public. In combination with publishing data sets online, this allows for completely reproducible analytical workflows, which is essential to make data processes verifiable to enhance the transparency and reusability of scientific findings.

In the context of this meet-up, Dr. Urs Kalbitzer (University of Konstanz and Max Planck Institute of Animal Behavior) showed how he applies Open Data Science in the context of his current scientific project, which analyses the impact of climate change on the fruit production of tropical trees. We are looking forward to seeing you there and to hearing your thoughts and experiences on Open Data Science.

Contact:

Material:

31.03.2022: Open Educational Resources

On 31 March 2022, the third ERUA Open Science Meet-Up took place on Zoom between 14:00 and 14:45 (German Time). The topic was Open Educational Resources (OER).

Open Educational Resources are a dimension of Open Science which is often overlooked: Especially among teachers and course instructors, the opportunities of Open Educational Resources are far too little known and seized. Frequently abbreviated as OER, Open Educational Resources are – as the name suggests – (self-)teaching materials which can be accessed by everyone for free on the internet. In this ERUA Open Science meet-up, we will be discussing, among other things, where you can find Open Educational Resources and what you need to keep in mind when producing your own OER by looking at exemplary cases. We are looking forward to meeting you all there – members of all ERUA universities (Roskilde, Konstanz, New Bulgarian University, Paris 8 and the University of the Aegean) are invited and warmly welcome to drop by. No registration is required.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us anytime.

Contact:

Material:

24.02.2022: Openness

After a fun round of Open Science Jeopardy in January, the second ERUA English-language Open Science Meet-Up took place on 24.02.2022, between 14.00 and 14.45 (German Time). The topic was "Openness".

What do we mean by open data and publications? How do we perceive openness in our scientific and professional environments? And, should there be limits to openness?

Drop by and discuss these topics with open science enthusiasts from Paris, Sofia, Konstanz, Roskilde and the Aegean. All interested members of ERUA universities are invited. No registration is necessary.

Contact:

Material:

27.01.2022: Open Science Jeopardy

The first monthly Open Science Meet-Up took place on 27.01.2022 between 14.00 and 14.45 (in English). The KIM of the University of Konstanz organised this meet-up in the context of ERUA with our European partner universities. We played a game of Jeopardy on the topic of Open Science. There, we could find out about how central Open Science terms are defined in other European countries and get in touch with Open Science enthusiasts from Paris, Sofia, Roskilde and the Aegean Islands.

Contact:

Material:

Open Science Meet-Ups

Die einmal im Monat in englischer Sprache auf Zoom stattfindenden Open Science Meet-Ups bieten Raum zum entspannten Austausch über Open Science-bezogene Themen. Angehörige aller ERUA-Universitäten - und darüber hinaus - sind sehr herzlich eingeladen. Es ist keine Anmeldung nötig.

Sie haben Themenvorschläge, -ideen oder -wünsche, die Sie gerne im Rahmen eines Open Science Meet-Ups besprechen würden? Wir freuen uns sehr über Ihre Nachricht.


Kommende Termine

15.12.2022: Weihnachts-Meet-Up: Rückblick, Ausblick und Weihnachtsspiel

15.12.2022, 14.00 - 14.45

Weihnachten steht vor der Tür! Genau der richtige Zeitpunkt, um auf ein Jahr voller Open Science Meet-Ups zurückzublicken. Im ersten Teil des Meet-Ups wird Max Heber zurückblicken auf das, was wir bisher behandelt haben und welche Pläne wir für die nächsten Monate haben. Wir sind gespannt darauf, was wir Ihrer Meinung nach in den Meet-Ups behandeln sollen. Im zweiten Teil des Treffens werden wir ein Weihnachtsspiel spielen. Bringt Kekse und Tee mit! Mitglieder aller ERUA-Universitäten - und darüber hinaus - sind herzlich eingeladen. Keine Anmeldung erforderlich.

Kontakt:

- Maximilian Heber, Team Open Science, Universität Konstanz

Vergangene Termine

24.11.2022: Repositorien

14:00 - 14:45 Uhr MEZ

Repositorien gehören zu den wichtigsten Bausteinen von Open Science. Als Speicherdienste für digitale Objekte wie Forschungsdaten oder Zeitschriftenartikel sind sie unverzichtbar, wenn es darum geht, Publikationen zu veröffentlichen, (selbst-)zu archivieren und Papiere sowie Daten der Weltöffentlichkeit zugänglich zu machen.

Bei diesem Treffen wird Gabriel Schneider erläutern, welche verschiedenen Arten von Repositorien es gibt und warum Sie die Nutzung von Repositorien für die Veröffentlichung von Daten und Textpublikationen in Betracht ziehen sollten. Darüber hinaus wird er einen praktischen Einblick in die Entwicklung von KonDATA, dem institutionellen Forschungsdaten-Repositorium der Universität Konstanz, geben.

Im Anschluss an den Vortrag haben die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer die Möglichkeit, Fragen zu stellen und zu vertiefen. Alle Mitglieder der fünf ERUA-Universitäten (New Bulgarian University, Roskilde, Konstanz, Paris 8 und University of the Aegean) sind herzlich eingeladen, an der Sitzung teilzunehmen, eine Anmeldung ist nicht erforderlich.

Kontakt:

Materialien:

08.11.2022: Live Meet-Up: Die Open Science Community - Perspektiven, Ansätze und Ausblick

Nach acht erfolgreichen virtuellen Veranstaltungen werden die ERUA Open Science Meet-Ups auf dem ERUA Summit im November 2022 in Paris live stattfinden! Da dies das erste Mal sein wird, dass ein Meet-up mit einer Gruppe vor Ort stattfindet, haben wir beschlossen, diese Sitzung uns selbst zu widmen: Die Open Science Community. Dazu werden Max Heber und Goran Sekulovski eine kurze Einführung in den Begriff Open Science für all jene geben, die mit dem Thema noch nicht vertraut sind. Sie werden auch beleuchten, warum es eine gute Idee ist, Open Science zu betreiben, ganz im Sinne einer verantwortungsvollen Forschung. Danach werden wir uns gemeinsam ansehen, welche verschiedenen Verbindungen es gibt, die uns mit Open Science verbinden und was das über die Open Science Community (oder Communities?) aussagt. Schließlich werden wir schauen, wie wir im Rahmen der anschließenden virtuellen Meet-Ups einzelne gemeinschaftsbezogene Themen weiter verfolgen können.

Kontakt:

- Dr. Goran Sekulovski, Service Commun de la Documentation, Universität Paris 8
- Maximilian Heber, Team Open Science, Universität Konstanz

Materialien:

- Präsentationsfolien
- Foto des Whiteboards

27.10.2022: Open-Access-Bücher

14:00 - 14:45 Uhr MEZ

Einzelne Artikel, die in Open-Access-Zeitschriften oder über Preprint-Server veröffentlicht werden, haben sich seit den 1990er Jahren in einer Reihe von wissenschaftlichen Disziplinen etabliert. Ein weniger bekanntes Format des Open-Access-Publizierens sind die sogenannten Open-Access-Bücher, d.h. vollwertige wissenschaftliche Bücher, die ohne Zugangsbeschränkungen im Internet veröffentlicht werden.

Andreas Kirchner, Referent für Open Access im Team Open Science der Universität Konstanz und Mitbegründer des Open-Access-Verlages meson press, wird in diesem Meet-up erläutern, was Open-Access-Bücher auszeichnet und in welchen wissenschaftlichen Kontexten sie beliebt sind. Außerdem wird er thematisieren, warum sich meson press für die Veröffentlichung von Open-Access-Büchern entschieden hat, wie der Publikationsprozess bei meson press aussieht und wie die Open-Access-Bücher finanziert werden.

Im Anschluss an den Vortrag haben die Teilnehmer die Möglichkeit, Fragen zu stellen und zu vertiefen. Alle Mitglieder der fünf ERUA-Universitäten (New Bulgarian University, Roskilde, Konstanz, Paris 8 und University of the Aegean) sind herzlich eingeladen, an der Veranstaltung teilzunehmen, eine Anmeldung ist nicht erforderlich.

Kontakt:

Materialien:

29.09.2022: Die Auswirkungen des bulgarischen nationalen Open-Science-Plans auf die New Bulgarian University

14:00 - 14:45 Uhr MEZ

Im Gegensatz zu vielen Ländern der Europäischen Union kanalisiert Bulgarien seine Open-Science-Bemühungen durch einen nationalen Open-Science-Plan, der von der Regierung aufgestellt wurde.

Es ist nicht schwer, sich vorzustellen, dass die Umsetzung dieses Plans nicht nur Auswirkungen auf die akademische Infrastruktur in Bulgarien hat, sondern auch auf die Art und Weise, wie die einzelnen Universitäten Open Science betreiben. Bei diesem Treffen werden Kristina Stoyanova, Radostina Todorova und Assoc. Prof. Eduard Marinov zeigen, wie der Plan die Art und Weise neu definiert hat, wie die Neue Bulgarische Universität in Sofia Open Science betreibt. Wie hat der Plan die Infrastruktur der Universität beeinflusst? Wie hat er die bereits bestehenden Open-Science-Bemühungen verändert? Welche neuen Maßnahmen und Open-Science-Dienste wurden als Folge der Anforderungen und Vorschläge des Plans geschaffen?

Im Anschluss an den Vortrag haben die Teilnehmer die Möglichkeit, Fragen zu stellen und einzelne Aspekte zu vertiefen. Alle Mitglieder der fünf ERUA-Universitäten (New Bulgarian University, Roskilde, Konstanz, Paris 8 und University of the Aegean) sind herzlich eingeladen, an der Sitzung teilzunehmen, eine Anmeldung ist nicht erforderlich.

Kontakt:

- Kristina Stoyanova, Radostina Todorova und Assoc. Prof. Eduard Marinov, New Bulgarian University
- Maximilian Heber, Team Open Science, Universität Konstanz

Material:

- Präsentationsfolien: The Impact of the Bulgarian National Plan on the New Bulgarian University (CC BY 4.0 International)

21.07.2022: Citizen Science

Am 21. Juli 2022 fand zwischen 14.00 Uhr und 14.45 Uhr das siebte ERUA-Open-Science-Meet-Up auf Zoom statt. Das Thema lautete Citizen Science.

Der Begriff Citizen Science bezieht sich auf Forschungsmethoden oder Wissenschaftsbereiche, in denen Forschungsprojekte mit Hilfe von oder vollständig durch interessierte Nicht-Akademiker durchgeführt werden.

In diesem Meet-Up stellten Sacha Zurcher und Pernille Nailor vor, was als Citizen Science definiert werden kann und welche Rollen Bürgerinnen und Bürger bei der Produktion und dem Konsum von wissenschaftlichem Wissen übernehmen können. Sie zeigte anhand praktischer Citizen-Science-Beispiele, die an der Universität Roskilde durchgeführt wurden, wie Citizen Science umgesetzt werden kann und welche Erfahrungen Roskilde bei der Durchführung von Citizen Science gemacht hat.

Nach dem Vortrag hatten die TeilnehmerInnen die Möglichkeit, Fragen zu stellen und ihre eigenen Erfahrungen mit Citizen Science auszutauschen und zu diskutieren. Alle Mitglieder der fünf ERUA-Universitäten (Neue Bulgarische Universität, Roskilde, Konstanz, Paris 8 und Universität der Ägäis) waren herzlich eingeladen, an der Sitzung teilzunehmen, eine Anmeldung war nicht erforderlich.

Forscher an der Universität Roskilde arbeiten seit langem mit den allgemeinen Ideen, die sich in dem Begriff "Citizen Science" widerspiegeln, indem sie verschiedene Elemente der Bürgerbeteiligung in ihre Forschungsprojekte einbeziehen. Im Laufe der Zeit haben die Forscher jedoch unterschiedliche Begriffe verwendet - insbesondere "Aktionsforschung", "Ko-Kreation" und "partizipative Forschung" - um diese Aktivitäten zu beschreiben. Der beste Weg, um mehr über spezifische Projekte an der Universität Roskilde zu erfahren, die diese Methoden beinhalten, ist daher, die Website der Universität www.forskning.ruc.dk zu besuchen und zu sehen, was auftaucht, wenn man die verschiedenen Begriffe eingibt. Forskning.ruc.dk ist eine hervorragende Ressource für alle, die mehr über aktuelle Forscher und Forschungsprojekte an der Universität Roskilde wissen möchten.


Kontakt:

Materialien:

- Wordcloud
- Präsentationsfolien (CC BY-NC 4.0 Sacha Zurcher, Special Adviser Research Data, Roskilde University Library, The Royal Danish Library)

Links zu Citizen Science:

23.06.2022: Open-Access-Zeitschriften

Am 23. Juni 2022 fand zwischen 14.00 Uhr und 14.45 Uhr in englischer Sprache das sechste ERUA Open Science Meet-Up auf Zoom statt. Das Thema lautete: Open-Access-Zeitschriften.

Digitale Zeitschriften gewinnen im akademischen Publikationswesen immer mehr an Bedeutung. Generell wird zwischen Closed-Access-Zeitschriften und Open-Access-Zeitschriften unterschieden. Während Artikel in Closed-Access-Zeitschriften hinter Bezahlschranken stehen, können Open-Access-Artikel von jedem und überall kostenlos gelesen werden.

Bei diesem Treffen wird George Walkden, Professor für englische Linguistik und Chefredakteur des Journal of Historical Syntax, die wichtigsten Unterschiede zwischen Closed-Access-Zeitschriften und Open-Access-Zeitschriften am Beispiel des Journal of Historical Syntax erläutern. Darüber hinaus wird er erörtern, warum sich die Herausgeber des Journals für Open Access und nicht für Closed Access entschieden haben, wie die redaktionellen und publikationsbezogenen Arbeitsabläufe aussehen und wie das Journal finanziert wird.

Im Anschluss an den Vortrag hatten die Teilnehmer die Möglichkeit, Fragen zu stellen und die Dinge vertiefter zu diskutieren. Alle Mitglieder der fünf ERUA-Universitäten (New Bulgarian University, Roskilde, Konstanz, Paris 8 und University of the Aegean) waren herzlich eingeladen, an der Sitzung teilzunehmen, eine Anmeldung war nicht erforderlich.

Sie haben Fragen zu Open-Access-Zeitschriften? Kontaktieren Sie George Walkden oder das Team Open Science jederzeit gerne.

Kontakt:

- Prof. Dr. George Walkden, Fachbereichbereich Linguistik, Universität Konstanz
- Maximilian Heber, Team Open Science, Universität Konstanz

Materialien:

18.05.2022: Die Open Science Pole der Universität Paris 8

Am 18. Mai 2022 fand zwischen 14.00 Uhr und 15.15 Uhr in englischer Sprache das fünfte ERUA Open Science Meet-Up auf Zoom statt. Das Thema lautete: Die Open Science Pole der Universität Paris 8.

Die Open Science Pole der Universität Paris 8 verfolgt verschiedene Ziele, um das Open-Science-Profil der Universität zu stärken. Die Ziele der Pole sind:

1.) Die Services der Universität im Bereich Open Science zu strukturieren.
2.) Die Sichtbarkeit der Open-Access-Publikationen von Paris 8 in der akademischen Welt erhöhen.
3.) Sicherstellen, dass Paris 8 die Anforderungen der französischen und europäischen Standards erfüllt.
4.) Die Position der Universität in der Open-Science-Bewegung stärken.
5.) Das Bewusstseins für Open Science in der Region Ile de France hinsichtlich Citizen Science und Participatory Science fördern.

Im ersten Teil des Treffens erläuterte Dr. Goran Sekulovski, in welchem institutionellen Kontext die Pole entstanden ist, wie sie auf Eben der Verwaltung betrieben wird und welcher Aktionsplan zum Erreichen der Ziele und zur Überwachung der Auswirkungen eingesetzt wird.

Im zweiten Teil des Treffens hatten die Teilnehmer die Möglichkeit, Fragen zur Pole zu stellen und die einzelnen Elemente der Pole vertieft zu diskutieren. Alle Mitglieder der fünf ERUA-Universitäten (New Bulgarian University, Roskilde, Konstanz, Paris 8 und University of the Aegean) waren herzlich willkommen, eine Anmeldung war nicht erforderlich.

Kontakt:

- Dr. Goran Sekulovski, Service Commun de la Documentation, Universität Paris 8
- Maximilian Heber, Team Open Science, Universität Konstanz

Materialien:

28.04.2022: Open Data Science

Am 28. April 2022 fand zwischen 14.00 Uhr und 14.45 Uhr in englischer Sprache das vierte ERUA Open Science Meet-Up auf Zoom statt. Das Thema lautete Open Data Science.

Ein wichtiger Aspekt von Open Science, insbesondere in wissenschaftlichen Bereichen, die auf empirischen Ansätzen beruhen, ist die Verwendung transparenter und reproduzierbarer Methoden zur Datenanalyse (manchmal als "Open Data Science" bezeichnet). Neben der geforderten Dokumentation der eigenen Arbeit werden dadurch die Methoden auch anderen Forschern und der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich gemacht. In Kombination mit der Online-Veröffentlichung von Datensätzen ermöglicht dies vollständig reproduzierbare analytische Arbeitsabläufe, was unerlässlich ist, um Datenprozesse überprüfbar zu machen und die Transparenz und Wiederverwendbarkeit wissenschaftlicher Ergebnisse zu verbessern.

Im Rahmen dieses Meetups zeigte Dr. Urs Kalbitzer (Universität Konstanz und Max-Planck-Institut für Verhaltensbiologie), wie er Open Data Science im Rahmen seines aktuellen wissenschaftlichen Projekts anwendete, das die Auswirkungen des Klimawandels auf die Obstproduktion tropischer Bäume analysiert. Wir freuen uns auf Ihr Kommen und auf Ihre Gedanken und Erfahrungen mit Open Data Science.

Kontakt:

Materialien:

31.03.2022: Open Educational Resources

Am 31. März 2022 fand zwischen 14.00 Uhr und 14.45 Uhr das dritte ERUA Open Science Meet-Up auf Zoom statt. Das Thema lautet Open Educational Resources (OER).

Open Educational Resources werden als Dimension von Open Science oft übersehen: Vor allem unter Lehrkräften sind die Chancen der Open Educational Resources noch viel zu wenig bekannt und werden zu wenig genutzt. Open Educational Resources (OER) sind - wie der Name schon sagt - (Selbst-)Lernmaterialien, die im Internet für jeden kostenlos zugänglich sind. In diesem ERUA Open Science Meet-up werden wir unter anderem darüber diskutieren, wo man Open Educational Resources finden kann und was man bei der Erstellung eigener OER beachten muss. Wir werden uns dazu exemplarische Fälle anschauen. Wir freuen uns darauf, Sie alle dort zu treffen - Mitglieder aller ERUA-Universitäten (Roskilde, Konstanz, New Bulgarian University, Paris 8 und Universität der Ägäis) sind eingeladen und herzlich willkommen, vorbeizuschauen. Eine Anmeldung ist nicht erforderlich.

Falls Sie Fragen haben, nehmen Sie jederzeit gerne Kontakt zu uns auf.

Kontakt:

Material:

24.02.2022: Openness

Nach einer schönen Runde Open-Science-Jeopardy im Januar fand am 24.02.2022, zwischen 14.00 Uhr und 14.45 Uhr das zweite ERUA-Open-Science-Meet-Up statt. Thema der Sitzung war „Openness“.

Was meinen wir, wenn wir von offenen Daten und Publikationen sprechen? Wie erleben wir eigentlich Offenheit in unseren wissenschaftlichen und beruflichen Umfeldern? Und: Sollte Offenheit Schranken haben?

Kommt/Kommen Sie dazu und diskutiert/diskutieren Sie mit Open-Science-Enthusiasten aus Paris, Sofia, Konstanz, Roskilde und der Ägäis. Eingeladen sind alle interessierten Mitglieder der ERUA-Universitäten. Es war keine Anmeldung notwendig.

Kontakt:

Materialien:

27.01.2022: Open Science Jeopardy

Am 27.01.2022 fand zwischen 14.00 Uhr und 14.45 Uhr das erste monatliche Open Science Meet-Up statt. Das KIM der Universität Konstanz organisiert dieses Meet-Up im Rahmen von ERUA mit unseren europäischen Partneruniversitäten. Wir spielten eine Runde Jeopardy zum Thema Open Science und erfuhren dabei, wie zentrale Open-Science-Begriffe in anderen europäischen Ländern definiert werden und kommen in Kontakte mit Open-Science-Enthusiasten aus Paris, Sofia, Roskilde und von den ägäischen Inseln.

Kontakt:

Materialien: