Roxana Halbleib selected to take part in Lindau Meeting on Economic Sciences together with 19 Laureates

Roxana Halbleib, Fellow of the Zukunftskolleg affiliated with the Department of Economics, will participate in the 6th Lindau Meeting on Economic Sciences together with Laureates of the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel.

360 young economists from 66 nations will participate in the meeting that will take place on 22–26 August, 2017 in Lindau (Germany) on Lake Constance.

Those accepted to the meeting have passed a multi-stage international selection process, which followed nominations from many scientific institutions and individuals including some laureates. The young economists are outstanding graduate students, post-docs and faculty under the age of 35. The proportion of women is 43 percent. The United States, the UK, Austria and Switzerland are the most strongly represented countries alongside Germany.

 “The field of participants is top notch. Many of the students are really among the best in their field. I am especially pleased that excellent young economists from developing countries in Africa and Asia will participate in the meeting,” says Torsten Persson, Secretary of the Committee for the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel and member of the Council for the Lindau Nobel Laureate Meetings. Persson is from Stockholm University and has led the selection process together with Klaus Schmidt, professor of economics at the Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität in Munich, and Martin Hellwig, Director of the Max Planck Institute for Research on Collective Goods in Bonn.

Mario Draghi, President of the European Central Bank, will be the keynote speaker at the opening ceremony of the Lindau Meeting on 22 August. The attending 19 laureates include Oliver Hart and Bengt Holmström, who received the 2016 prize for their contributions to contract theory. In addition to research on contracts, incentives and organisations, key topics at this year’s meeting will include monetary and fiscal policy as well as the economics of inequality.

The Lindau Meeting on Economic Sciences has been held every three years since 2004. The Lindau Nobel Laureate Meetings which alternate between physiology/medicine, physics and chemistry – the three natural science Nobel Prize disciplines – have been held since 1951.