The University of Konstanz is successful in both funding lines of the Excellence Strategy of the German Federal and State Governments. It has received funding in all three funding lines of the precursor programme, the Excellence Initiative, since 2007. The University of Konstanz is comprised of a wide network of research institutions. Additionally, many Collaborative Research Centres (SFB), research initiatives, units and centres are carrying out research at the University of Konstanz.

Collaborative Research Centres

Collaborative Research Centres (CRC) are long-term research facilities at universities that generally receive funding for up to 12 years. Funded by the German Research Foundation (DFG), these interdisciplinary research facilities give researchers from different disciplines the opportunity to work on projects together.

Research units

Research units are also funded by the German Research Foundation (DFG). They are comprised of several researchers who typically work together for around six years to carry out joint research projects.

Research Training Groups

Research Training Groups are established for a limited period of time to promote junior researchers and are also funded by the German Research Foundation (DFG). Here, doctoral candidates are provided the opportunity to conduct their research within programmes that are coordinated and supervised by several university professors.

Core facilities, network and transfer platforms