New people, new ideas

From 14 to 15 July, the new members of the Scientific Advisory Board (SAB) of the Zukunftskolleg met for the first time in Konstanz.

The new members are (from left to right) David Gugerli (Professor for History of Technology at the ETH Zurich), Jane Ohlmeyer (Erasmus Smith's Professor of Modern History at Trinity College, Dublin), Ingrid Wünning-Tschol (Senior-Vice-President Health and Science, Robert Bosch Stiftung, Germany), Ursula Schwarzenbart (Director Global Diversity Daimler, Former Member of the University Council, University of Konstanz (03/2009-02/2018)), on the screen Raghavendra Gadagkar (Professor at the Centre for Ecological Sciences, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore), Vinod Subramaniam (President of the Executive Board University of Twente, Member of the Excellence Strategy Council of the University of Konstanz), Manuela Nocker (Senior Lecturer in Organisation and Sustainability, University of Essex), Elke aus dem Moore (Director of the Academy Schloss Solitude), as well as Sabine von Heusinger (Professor of Medieval History/ late Middle Ages, University of Cologne) and Michael Matlosz (President of EuroScience) who could not take part in the meeting. Manuela Nocker represents continuity in the Scientific Advisory Board, as she was already a member of the Scientific Advisory Board of the Zukunftskolleg from 2017 until 2020.

The Rector of the University of Konstanz, Katharina Holzinger, opened the meeting followed by an introduction of the members of the SAB. Afterwards, the fellows and SAB members got together in discussion groups to talk about career paths, digitalization, mobility and the mission and relevance of the Zukunftskolleg. The next day the SAB discussed together with the Executive Committee the challenges and possible changes for the Zukunftskolleg.