Doctoral Fund and retreats

You are a doctoral researcher at the University of Konstanz? Then the Doctoral Fund is exactly the right funding instrument for you.

The Doctoral Fund, launched as part of the Excellence Strategy, provides funding for doctoral researchers. With this tool, the University of Konstanz aims to improve the working conditions of junior researchers.

An amount of up to 5,000 euros is available for doctoral researchers at the University of Konstanz to support them in establishing research networks. Four times per year they can apply for grants to finance conference trips, research stays, data collection and the organization of workshops.

All accepted doctoral researchers from the University of Konstanz can apply. It is possible to submit several applications for different projects, but not more than 5,000 euros will be allocated to an applicant within a period of three years.

New! Retreats for doctoral researchers: For the first time, several doctoral students can apply jointly for funding of a retreat that serves their research work, collaboration and networking, or continuing education. Up to 5,000 euros may be awarded once per project for the group of participants. One contact person submits the application that will include the documents listed below as well as a list of retreat participants.

The application should be short and precise (maximum of 5 pages) and contain the following:

  1. Description of the project including a timeline and financial plan, as well as a justification for the requested funds.
  2. Statement why this funding is necessary – why is there no alternative funding option?
  3. Current CV (does not count towards the maximum of 5 pages).
  4. Proof of acceptance or certificate of enrolment as doctoral researcher at the University of Konstanz.

Please use the application template.

Send the documents electronically as a single pdf document to the Vice Rector for Research and Academic Staff Development.

Applications can be submitted at any time. The decision about the applications will be taken within four weeks after the following cut-off dates:

15 January (earliest funding start: 1 March)
15 April (earliest funding start: 1 June)
15 June (earliest funding start: 1 August)
15 October (earliest funding start: 1 December)

Doctoral Fund und Retreats

Sie promovieren an der Universität Konstanz? Dann sind der Docotoral Fund und die Retreats genau das Richtige für Sie.

Der im Rahmen der Exzellenzstrategie eingerichtete Doctoral Fund stellt in begrenzter Höhe Finanzmittel für DoktorandInnen zur Verfügung. Mit dieser Maßnahme möchte die Universität Konstanz die Arbeitsbedingungen ihrer NachwuchswissenschaftlerInnen weiter verbessern.

Mit einem Volumen von bis zu 5.000 Euro unterstützt der Doctoral Fund DoktorandInnen der Universität Konstanz dabei, wissenschaftliche Netzwerke aufzubauen. Viermal jährlich können Zuschüsse für Konferenzreisen, Forschungsaufenthalte, die Erhebung von Daten und Organisation von Workshops beantragt werden.

Antragsberechtigt sind alle zur Promotion angenommenen Promovierenden der Universität Konstanz. Wiederholte Antragstellungen für unterschiedliche Vorhaben sind zulässig, wobei innerhalb eines Zeitraums von drei Jahren pro AntragstellerIn nicht mehr als 5.000 Euro ausgeschüttet werden.

Neu! Retreats für Promovierende: Erstmals können sich auch mehrere Promovierende gemeinsam für die Finanzierung eines Retreats bewerben, das ihrer wissenschaftlichen Arbeit, ihrer Zusammenarbeit und Vernetzung oder ihrer Weiterbildung dient. Pro Vorhaben können für die Gruppe der Teilnehmenden an dem Retreat einmalig bis zu 5.000 Euro vergeben werden. Der Antrag für ein Retreat wird von einer Ansprechperson gestellt und enthält neben den unten aufgeführten Antragsunterlagen eine Liste der Teilnehmenden des Retreats.

Der Antrag soll nach Form und Inhalt kurz und präzise (maximal 5 Seiten) abgefasst werden und die folgenden Teile enthalten:

  1. Beschreibung des Vorhabens mit Zeit- und Finanzplan sowie einer bedarfsgerechten Begründung der beantragten Mittel.
  2. Darstellung der Fördernotwendigkeit: Weshalb kommen keine alternativen Finanzierungen in Betracht?
  3. Aktueller Lebenslauf (als Anlage außerhalb des Seitenlimits).
  4. Nachweis der Annahme zur Promotion oder Immatrikulationsbescheinigung, aus welcher der Status als Promovierende / als Promovierender an der Universität Konstanz hervorgeht.

Bitte verwenden Sie für Ihre Anträge das Antragstemplate.

Die Unterlagen sind elektronisch als ein PDF-Dokument an die Konstanz Research School zu richten.

Anträge können jederzeit gestellt werden. Die Begutachtung erfolgt innerhalb von vier Wochen nach den Stichtagen:

15. Januar (frühester Förderbeginn: 1. März)
15. April (frühester Förderbeginn: 1. Juni)
15. Juni (frühester Förderbeginn: 1. August)
15. Oktober (frühester Förderbeginn: 1. Dezember)