A voluntary position (Ehrenamt) is an activity that someone carries out voluntarily and without receiving payment. The German Research Fellowship (DFG) supports research activities financially and promotes the collaboration of researchers both nationally and internationally. Its efforts focus on promoting and training young academics. DFG members work voluntarily and are employed at institutions of higher education, in research positions as well as in academic and scientific capacities.

Numerous employees of the University of Konstanz volunteer their time for the German Research Fellowship.

Professor Friedrich Breyer (1950) holds the chair of Economics and Social Policy in the Department of Economics and is a research professor at the German Institute for Economic Research (DIW) in Berlin. Breyer is one of the founding fathers of the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Gesundheitsökonomie (dggö), whose umbrella organisation is the Verein für Socialpolitik. The former organisation concentrates specifically on health economics while the latter focuses on social policy in general. His areas of specialisation are the economics of social safety nets and health economics. He has been a member of the DFG’s Review Board 112 for economics since 2012.

Professor Alexander Bürkle (1957) is a professor of molecular toxicology in the Department of Biology. He is a board member and treasurer for the International Union of Toxicology. He is also a board member of the Gesellschaft für Toxikologie (German toxicology society). He is a member of the DFG’s Review Board 205 for medicine.

Professor Elke Deuerling (1967) holds the chair of Molecular Microbiology. Her career path includes work at the Medical Sciences Center in Madison, Wisconsin, USA. Deuerling is a member of both the DFG’s Senate Committee on Research Training Groups and its Grants Committee on Research Training Groups.

Professor Giovanni C. Galizia (1963) is a professor for zoology and neurobiology. He is director of the University of Konstanz’s Zukunftskolleg. He was one of the founding members of the “Junge Akademie” (an institution for young academics) and was responsible for scientific policy. The zoologist acts as liaison officer for the DFG.

Petra Hätscher (1960) is the director of the University of Konstanz’s Communication, Information, Media Centre (KIM). The political science graduate is a member of the DFG Committee on Scientific Library Services and Information Systems and the chair of the Subcommittee on Electronic Publications.

Professor Katharina Holzinger (1958) is the chair of International Politics and Conflict Management. She was a board member of the Deutsche Vereinigung für Politikwissenschaft (DVPW) and speaker for the DVPW-section “Policy-Analysis and Administrative Sciences”. She represents Konstanz’s Department of Politics and Public Administration at the Heidelberg Academy of Sciences and Humanities. She is chair of the DFG’s Review Board 111 for social sciences.

Professor Jürgen Osterhammel (1952) is a German historian and a professor of modern and contemporary history at the University of Konstanz. Osterhammel is one of the leading representatives of global history. He is a member of the DFG’s Review Board 102 for history.

Professor Frank Peeters (1960) works at the University of Konstanz’s Limnological Institute in the field of environmental physics and is a professor of biology. He works in the DFG’s Senate Commission on Water Research .

Professor Brigitte Rockstroh (1950) is a professor of clinical psychology and neuropsychology. She is a member of both the DFG’s Senate Committee on Collaborative Research Centres and its Grants Committee on Collaborative Research Centres.

Professor Elke Scheer (1965) is chair of Experimental Physics and a member of the DFG’s Review Board 307 for condensed matter physics.