Since 1909, the goal of the Heidelberg Academy of Sciences and Humanities has been to bring scholars and researchers together as well as to promote junior academics. As a modern, non-university research institution, the academy hosts conferences for scholars and scientists in addition to series of lectures for the general public.

Exceptional scholars and scientists from around Baden-Württemberg are elected as full members of the Heidelberg Academy of Sciences and Humanities. The Members’ Assembly can then elect additional corresponding members from around the world. At the moment, the academy is comprised of 183 full members and 74 corresponding members from almost every field of study. Because of this broad range of expertise, an interdisciplinary exchange of scholarly and scientific ideas can take place, unhindered by discipline, faculty and university structures.

Members of the Heidelberg Academy of Sciences and Humanities from the University of Konstanz:

Professor Rudolf Cohen (1932) is a German psychologist. He researched and taught at the University of Konstanz from 1969 to 1996 in the fields of clinical and differential psychology. He was university rector for four years starting in 1996 and still currently represents the University of Konstanz at the academy.

Professor Katharina Holzinger (1958) is the chair of International Politics and Conflict Management. In addition to being chair of the DFG’s Review Board 111 for social sciences, she was on the Deutsche Vereinigung für Politikwissenschaft’s board (DVPW) and speaker for the DVPW-section “Policy-Analysis and Administrative Sciences”. The DVPW is an organisation for the political sciences. She represents Konstanz’s Department of Politics and Public Administration at the academy.

Professor Renate Lachmann (1936) is a German scholar of Slavic languages as well as literary theory. She taught general literary studies and Slavic literature at the University of Konstanz from 1978 to 2001.

Professor Paul Leiderer (1944) is a German physicist and professor at the University of Konstanz.

Professor Hubert Markl (1938 – 2015) was a German zoologist, behavioural scientist and research manager. In 1974, he became a professor of biology at the university and represented his department at the academy.

Professor Brigitte Rockstroh (1950) is professor of clinical psychology and neuropsychology.

Professor Elke Scheer (1965) is chair of Experimental Physics and a member of the DFG’s Review Board 307 for condensed matter physics.

Professor Wolfgang Seibel (1953) is a German public administration scholar and has held the chair for Public Administration at the University of Konstanz since 1990.

Professor Karlheinz Stierle (1936) is a German scholar of Romance languages and literary studies. He held the chair for Romance literatures and general literary studies at the University of Konstanz from 1998 to 2004.

Professor Volker Strassen (1936) is a German mathematician and was a professor of mathematics at the University of Konstanz until 2001. He represents the Department of Mathematics and Statistics at the academy.