Guidelines for the Academic Calendar

The Ca'Foscari Academic Year is divided into **two semesters** for the:

- Department of Environmental Sciences, Informatics and Statistics (DAIS)
- Department of Molecular Sciences and Nanosystems (DSMN)
- Department of Asian and North African Studies (DSAAM)
- Department of Linguistics and Comparative Cultural Studies (DSLCC)

The first semester usually runs from September to January, while the second one runs from February to June.

However, other departments follow a **term-based** calendar. Each semester is divided into two terms. Consequently, the first semester is divided into **first** and **second term**, while the second semester is divided into **third** and **fourth term**. The departments that follow this structure are:

- Department of Economics (DEC)
- **Department of Humanities** (DSU)
- Department of Management (DMA)
- Department of Philosophy and Cultural Heritage (DFBC)

The courses that run for a term have also an **exam session at the end of the term**, not just in January and end of May-June like the semester-based courses.

Please keep in mind that there are some courses which consist of two modules, they run for two consecutive terms. These courses have a special schedule, e.g.:

- The first-term part has an exam session at the end of the term (between October and November), while the second-term part has only one exam session at the end of the semester, in January.
- **Standalone second term courses** have an exam session in **December** and the regular one in **January**.