Awards and award winners


With this award, the “Stiftung Wissenschaft und Gesellschaft” honours extraordinary achievements and innovative accomplishments in the field of teaching. The award is endowed with 5,000 euros.

The Senate selects the Tina-Ulmer-Lehrpreis winners from among the LUKS award winners (University of Konstanz Award for Teaching Excellence).

The University of Konstanz awards the prize during the Regional Science Forum organised by the foundation, which takes place annually in turn either in Donaueschingen or in Tuttlingen.

Award winners:

Prof. Dr. Michael Grossniklaus (Fachbereich Informatik und Informationswissenschaft)

Show more

Prof. Dr. Friedrich Breyer (Fachbereich Wirtschaftswissenschaften)

Professor Bernd Stiegler (Department of Literature)

Show more

Prof. Dr. Bent Gebert (Fachbereich Literaturwissenschaft)

Prof. Dr. Isabell Otto

Engagement bei der Einbindung des studentischen Film- und Fernsehprojekts CampusTV in die Strukturen des Studiengangs Literatur-Kunst-Medien

Professor Elke Scheer (Department of Physics)

Prize for the advancement of junior researchers

Due to continuously low interest rates caused by the latest financial crisis, this prize will not be awarded until further notice.

Since 1985, the foundation has awarded an annual prize to support junior researchers working in the social sciences. The award is worth 3,000 euros and can be shared.
The selection of the award winner(s) is made by a committee based on recommendations from the social sciences departments.
The University of Konstanz awards the prize during the annual Dies academicus.

Dr. Verena Krebs

Dissertation zum Thema "Windows onto the World: Culture Contact and Western Christian Art in Ethiopia, 1402-1543" (Fachbereich Geschichte und Soziologie)

Show more

Dr. Dennis Reschke

Dissertation zum Thema „Untreue, Bankrott und Insolvenzverschleppung im eingetragenen Verein” (Fachbereich Rechtswissenschaft)

Dr. Julia Schieber

Dissertation zum Thema „Komplementärer Schutz - Eine Untersuchung zur Weiterentwicklung des gemeinsamen europäischen Schutzraumes“ (Fachbereich Rechtswissenschaft)

Dr. Philip Leifeld

Dissertation zum Thema „Discourse Networks and German Pension Politics“ (Fachbereich Politik- und Verwaltungswissenschaft)

Dr. Sophie Schmitt (Fachbereich Politik- und Verwaltungswissenschaft) und Dr. Leon Wansleben (Fachbereich Geschichte und Soziologie)

- keine Preisvergabe -

Dr. Valeska Huber (Fachbereich Geschichte und Soziologie)

Dr. Björn Jesse (Fachbereich Rechtswissenschaft) und Dr. Daniel Hütter (Fachbereich Geschichte und Soziologie)

Dr. Tobias Flaisch (Fachbereich Psychologie)

Dr. Dana Maria Bichescu (Fachbereich Psychologie)

Dr. Marcel Kau (Fachbereich Rechtswissenschaft)

Dr. Frank Neuner (Fachbereich Psychologie) und Dr. Sandra Schmieder (Fachbereich Rechtswissenschaft)

Dr. Thorsten Rudroff (Fachbereich Geschichte und Soziologie)

Dr. Roman Trötschel (Fachbereich Psychologie) und Dr. Eva Obergfell (Fachbereich Rechtswissenschaft)

Dr. Adriana M. Godoy (Fachbereich Psychologie) und Dr. Heinrich Schoppmeyer (Fachbereich Rechtswissenschaft)

Dr. Markus Junghöfer (Fachbereich Psychologie) und Dr. Alexander Kukk (Fachbereich Rechtswissenschaft)

Dr. Matthias Kannegießer (Juristische Fakultät) und Dr. Norbert Wunner (Fakultät für Wirtschaftswissenschaften und Statistik)

Dr. Matthias Messmer (Sozialwissenschaftliche Fakultät) und Dr. Friederike Sandrock (Juristische Fakultät)

Dr. Sikandar Siddiqui (Fakultät für Wirtschaftswissenschaften und Statistik)

Dr. Christoph Klein (Sozialwissenschaftliche Fakultät) und Dr. Rainer Lorz (Juristische Fakultät)

Dr. Hartmut Leuthold (Sozialwissenschaftliche Fakultät)

Dr. Martina Siemann (Sozialwissenschaftliche Fakultät)

Dr. Bernd Hecker (Juristische Fakultät)

Dr. Ulrich Parche (Juristische Fakultät)

Dr. Rolf Theißen (Juristische Fakultät) und Dr. Wolfgang Reder (Juristische Fakultät)

Dr. Doris Bischof-Köhler (Sozialwissenschaftliche Fakultät)

Dr. Astrid Stadler (Juristische Fakultät)

Dr. Christine Hügel (Juristische Fakultät)

Dr. Udo Steinhilper (Juristische Fakultät), Dr. Pari Loco und Dr. Harald Fuhr (Sozialwissenschaftliche Fakultät), Dr. Hans-Christoph von Haydebrand und der Lasa (Juristische Fakultät)


Due to continuously low interest rates caused by the latest financial crisis, the Manfred-Ulmer-Stipendium will not be awarded until further notice.

With the Manfred-Ulmer-Stipendium (scholarship), which has been awarded once every year since 2001, the foundation supports one junior researcher from the University of Konstanz for the duration of six months. The aim of the Manfred-Ulmer-Stipendium is to support talented students as they transition to doctoral research. The scholarship is worth 1,000 euros per month. For the duration of the scholarship, the recipients are also associated fellows of the University of Konstanz’s Zukunftskolleg.

All university students between studies and doctoral research are eligible to apply. The call for applications is published on this page and in the university’s research news in the first quarter of every year.

The Manfred-Ulmer-Stipendium is awarded by the University of Konstanz during the Regional Science Forum organised by the foundation, which takes place annually in turn either in Donaueschingen or in Tuttlingen.

Award winners:

Katrin Stuber and Konstantin Käppner

Doctoral project entitled “Unnatural amino acids as tools to study protein phosphorylation and ubiquitylation” (Katrin Stuber, Konstanz Research School Chemical Biology)

Doctoral project “Disentangling Endogenous Dynamics in Turnout and Vote Choice” (Konstantin Käppner, Depart of Politics and Public Administration)

Jihad Titi

Promotionsprojekt zu "Polynomial Global Optimization Using the Bernstein Form", Fachbereich Mathematik

Marie Revellio

Forschungsprojekt zur "Literarischen Inszenierung kulturellen Wandels bei Hieronymus mithilfe digitaler Intertextualitätsanalyse", Fachbereich Literaturwissenschaft

Stefanie Neupert

Forschungsprojekt zu "Sozialen Insekten", Fachbereich Biologie

Lena Dreher

Department of Philosophy

Friedrich Cain

Department of History and Sociology (history)

Nicole Rettig

Department of Literature

Agata Sadowska

Department of History and Sociology (history)

Alexandra Zinke

Department of Philosophy

No scholarship awarded

Christian Augustin

Department of Philosophy

Patrick Eiden

Department of Literature

Caterina Gawrilow

Department of Psychology

Oliver Kilian

Department of Biology

Andreas Warntjen

Department of Politics and Public Administration

Jonas Obleser

Department of Psychology