Landeslehrpreis (LLP, state teaching award)

of the Ministry of Science, Research and the Arts Baden-Württemberg (MWK)

In 2017, the MWK will once again recognise excellent university teachers and outstanding student engagement. The 2017 Landeslehrpreise (state teaching awards) aim to provide best practice examples for teaching, create incentives, spark ideas and start debates. There is one award for every type of higher education institution. Each prize is worth 50,000 euros.

In addition, the state teaching awards further recognise student engagement with a single special prize worth 5,000 euros.

The winners will be presented with their award during a central event to be held on Wednesday, 6 December 2017 in the Neues Schloss.

Internal process

Internal process

By 8 May

Submission of a brief declaration of intent to the Committee on Curricular Affairs and Life-Long Learning (ALW) (up to 250 words)

19 May

The ALW reviews all nominations


A draft nomination is prepared as described in the MWK guidelines, supported by the university didactics team

28 June

The finished nomination goes to the senate for approval


The Rectorate submits the nomination (deadline: 3 July)

Participation of study commissions and graduates

The study commissions have to be involved in the preparation of the nominations. If possible, graduates should also be involved in the process.

Who and what is eligible?

What achievements does the award recognise?

  • Innovative concepts and/or
  • particularly committed university teachers active in a single subject and/or beyond;
  • courses of different kinds that come with especially well-prepared study materials and particularly well-conceived learning structures - this also includes long-standing courses or modules of particular practical merit;
  • tutorials or orientation events;
  • writings or materials particularly useful for university study, including new course books not yet established as staples of university teaching;
  • a didactically qualified monograph;
  • teaching concepts that encourage sustainable development through education.

Who can be nominated?

  • recipients of teaching awards (e.g. LUKS, Tina Ulmer Teaching Award),
  • individual members of academic staff who are responsible for their own teaching (students and tutors are not eligible),
  • working groups consisting of three to five members,
  • university units responsible for the administration of teaching, e.g. departments or subject associations.