The Compensation of Surviving Former Forced Labor Workers in the Third Reich
- East European Winners and Losers -

During the negotiations on the compensation of former forced labor workers in the Third Reich a projection of the number of former forced labor workers surviving the year 1999 was made at the University of Konstanz. This projection comprises former forced labor workers from those countries that participated in the negotiations with the German government. Furthermore, information provided by Foundation Initiatives from Poland, the Czech Republic, the Ukraine, Russia, and Belarus on the occasion of talks in Florence in September 1999 was analyzed. The results stated that data from the Czech Republic could be considered as absolutely reliable, whereas data from Poland and the Ukraine revealed significant credibility problems. There was no detailed data on the structure of the group of surviving former forced labor workers provided by Russia and Belarus.

In view of the results of the negotiation process which was concluded recently in Berlin, one can infer that those sides who did not provide accurate data where awarded the largest shares of the compensation sum. For instance, the Polish share of the total sum of DM 8.25 billion appears to be too low in spite of obviously exaggerated data which was provided by the Polish Foundation Initiative. The Czech representatives obviously had the weakest position, despite their very reliable and credible data material.

Also, it is difficult to assess the situation of both former forced labor workers from those countries who were not represented in the negotiations and the group of former slave labor workers around the world. These two groups have to share a sum of DM 800 million. A considerable share of former forced labor workers from the Balkan states was employed on the territory of today's Austria. Hence, they will be compensated by Austria. However, the number of other former slave labor workers (which is not projectable) will render this sum to be insufficient.

Therefore, it is highly questionable whether the compromise obtained last Thursday will live up to its promise when the issue of actual disbursements arises.

Copyright 2000, Dr. Roland Jeske

Osteuropäische Gewinner und Verlierer bei der Entschädigung überlebender Zwangsarbeiter im Deutschen Reich

Im Zuge der Diskussion um die Entschädigung ehemaliger Zwangsarbeiter wurde an der Universität Konstanz eine Hochrechnung über die Zahl der das Jahr 1999 überlebenden Zwangsarbeiter des Dritten Reiches erstellt. Diese Hochrechnung umfaßt im wesentlichen die Zwangsarbeiter der Staaten, die mit eigenen Interessengruppen an den Verhandlungen beteiligt waren. Parallel wurden die in einer Gesprächsrunde in Florenz im September 1999 zusammengetragenen Informationen der vertretenen Stiftungsinitiativen aus Polen, der Tschechischen Republik, der Ukraine, Rußland und Weißrußland analysiert mit dem Ergebnis, daß die Angaben der Tschechischen Republik absolut verläßlich sind, die Daten aus Polen und der Ukraine gewisse Glaubwürdigkeitsprobleme aufwerfen, während aus Rußland und Weißrußland keine detaillierten Angaben zur Struktur der überlebenden Zwangsarbeiter vorgelegt wurden.

Betrachtet man diese Ergebnisse im Licht der konkreten Aufteilung der Entschädigung, die in der vergangenen Verhandlungsrunde in Berlin gefunden wurde, so stellt man fest, daß die Parteien, die das unzulänglichste Datenmaterial zur Verfügung gestellt haben, am besten abgeschnitten haben. Selbst die teilweise nicht nachvollziehbaren Angaben der polnischen Stiftung reichen nicht aus, um den polnischen Zwangsarbeitern den ihnen zustehenden Anteil am Gesamtvolumen der 8,25 Mrd. DM zu sichern. Die schlechteste Verhandlungsposition hatten offenbar die Vertreter der tschechischen Stiftungen, deren Zahlenangaben aus Konstanzer Sicht am umfassendsten und glaubwürdigsten waren.

Problematisch ist die Beurteilung der am Verhandlungstisch nicht vertretenen sonstigen Zwangsarbeiter Osteuropas sowie der Sklavenarbeiter weltweit, die sich zusammen eine Summe von 800 Mio. DM teilen müssen. Zwar war ein nicht unerheblicher Teil der Zwangsarbeiter vom Balkan auf österreichischem Territorium beschäftigt und wird damit von Österreich entschädigt. Die nicht hochrechenbare Anzahl der sonstigen Sklavenarbeiter dürfte diese Gruppe von Opfern aber schnell an die Grenzen des eher knapp bemessenen Plafonds bringen.

Es bleibt daher abzuwarten, ob der am vergangenen Donnerstag gefundene Kompromiß auch dann noch tragfähig sein wird, wenn es um die konkrete Auszahlung der Entschädigungsleistungen geht.

Copyright 2000, Dr. Roland Jeske